Things I learned from fourth graders

1.  When operating the computer next to the electric pencil sharpener by the blackboard, the screen jiggles in time to the revolutions of said pencil sharpener.

2.  Duct tape is vital in the assembly of a native american long house.

3.  Owls don’t poop.

4.  Verizon is better than AT&T because Verizon’s service is “only ten dollars a month!!!”

5.  When someone has passed gas, it is necessary to discuss it for ten minutes.

6.  When critiquing  fellow classmates’ oral presentations, no observations should be off-limits  including “your nose does a weird thing when you talk.”

7.  How to reprogram a firewall.

4 Comments

Filed under words

4 responses to “Things I learned from fourth graders

  1. Poof! Just like that, you put me in a room with them.

    Please get me out.

  2. Cris – it is a delight being in a room with them – for an hour. I don’t know if I could do it for 8. I can’t be wtih my own kids that long without a break. It’s the constant talking that gets me the most. Everyone who knows me well knows I demand a night in a downtown Seattle hotel BY MYSELF every few months. It’s the only way I can have total silence for 24 hours. Now I know for a fact that my Mom didn’t hang on my every word. Hell, she probably didn’t listen to a fraction of it. How could she?

  3. icanhasdiary

    Constant talking really does get old FAST. I wouldn’t be able to do it more than an hour or so, either. Good lawd.

    So, I’m curious about the weird thing your nose does when you talk. Was it YOUR nose? Or was the kid who said it making a sweeping generalization using that “you” that means “all people”? Hmmm. Related, but I noticed the other day my mouth does a weird thing when I talk, actually. I move one side of it more than the other. So it’s almost like stroke-mouth. I’m so ashamed. I need a mask, or a bag like the Unknown Comic.

  4. Margaret

    If owls don’t poop, where does it go?

Leave a comment